Linswritings

A Progressive way of thinking

Posted on: August 17, 2011

Let’s look at this statement by Obama’s Ag Secretary Vilsack about food stamps being a “stimulus.”

Vilsack said: Well, obviously, it’s putting people to work. Which is why we’re going to have some interesting things in the course of the forum this morning. Later this morning, we’re going have a press conference with Secretary Mavis and Secretary Chu to announce something that’s never happened in this country — something that we think is exciting in terms of job growth. I should point out, when you talk about the SNAP program or the food stamp program, you have to recognize that it’s also an economic stimulus. Every dollar of SNAP benefits generates $1.84 in the economy in terms of economic activity. If people are able to buy a little more in the grocery store, someone has to stock it, package it, shelve it, process it, ship it. All of those are jobs. It’s the most direct stimulus you can get in the economy during these tough times.”

Huh? Living off of food stamps directly stimulates the economy? Who pays for the food stamp program? Taxpayers that’s who. Over 40 million people are on food stamps today. That is a very sad number. These are people who are not working, not paying taxes and need help to survive every day. The food stamp program was designed to be a welfare benefit to help people get by until they find a job.

But if you listen to the Progressive way of thinking, any type of welfare is good for the economy. What they fail to say is who is paying for the welfare program – the few working people. As for creating jobs, you are not adding more working people to the economy you are adding people to the welfare state. You don’t need to hire more people to stock shelves because the people on food stamps are still the same number of people just now they are not paying for food with wages but with a government food stamp program.  How can anyone say that with a straight face knowing that they are conning us into believing them?

Now I’m all for helping people during hard times, but to tout the program as a stimulus is a total convoluted message that this administration wants us to believe in.

Is that the Hope and Change Obama was touting? If so, keep your hope and change and just get people back to work. Just as Newt Gingrich said, Obama is the food stamp president. Not exactly a good thing to say about his administration but the truth.

54 Responses to "A Progressive way of thinking"

What do you expect they have no record to run on so they have to invent one.

Blessings on you and yours
John Wilder

I agree with you totally. I just hope people see the fallacy in their thinking and make the right decision next year.

There is noticeably a bundle to know about this. I assume you made certain nice points in features also.

There are some interesting points in time in this article but I don’t know if I see all of them center to heart. There is some validity but I will take hold opinion until I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we want more! Added to FeedBurner as well

When I originally commented I clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four emails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that service? Thanks!

An interesting discussion is worth comment. I think that you should write more on this topic, it might not be a taboo subject but generally people are not enough to speak on such topics. To the next. Cheers

Me and my buddy had been arguing about a problem similar to this! Now I understand that I used to be correct. ! Thanks for that info you post.

This will help my website design in Kentucky!

I really liked the article, and the very cool blog

Awesome blog over here! Thanks for sharing this very usefull information. I will visit your blog again into a couple off days to check if you have some new articles.

Awesome blog over here! Thanks for sharing this very usefull information. I will visit your blog again into a couple off days to check if you have some new articles.

My thoughts exactly!

Awesome blog over here! Thanks for sharing this very usefull information. I will visit your blog again into a couple off days to check if you have some new articles.

I really appreciate this post. I’ve been looking everywhere for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You have made my day! Thx again!

I’ve recently started a website, the info you offer on this site has helped me greatly. Thank you for all of your time & work.

You shared very usefull infomation over here! I just wanna thank you for doing that! When you posted more articles like this, I wanna visit your blog even more!

A lot of whatever you point out happens to be astonishingly appropriate and it makes me wonder the reason why I hadn’t looked at this in this light previously. This particular article really did switch the light on for me as far as this specific issue goes

It’s a nice blog you have over here! It’s very usefull information for me and I just want to thank you for that! If you post more threads as this one, I’ll follow your blog active!

Awesome blog over here! Thanks for sharing this very usefull information. I will visit your blog again into a couple off days to check if you have some new articles.

I enjoyed the post. I recommend doing acupuncture to promote worker happiness. Thumbs up 🙂

I am very happy to read this. This is the kind of manual that needs to be given and not the accidental misinformation that is at the other blogs. Appreciate your sharing this greatest doc.

Outstanding article once again! I am looking forward for your next post;)

Hello there, simply turned into aware of your weblog via Google, and located that it’s truly informative. I am going to watch out for brussels. I’ll appreciate in case you continue this in future. Lots of folks might be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

It’s a nice blog you have over here! It’s very usefull information for me and I just want to thank you for that! If you post more threads as this one, I’ll follow your blog active!

I am not sure where you are getting your information, but very good topic. I should take the time studying more or understanding more. Many thanks for amazing info I wanted this info for my mission.

You ought to take part in a competition for one of the best information sites on the net. I would completely endorse this great site! Also I brought up yourself on my Myspace internet page, ideally that is okay.

Keep up this good work, you have a nice blog over here with much good information! When you post some new stuff, I’ll visit your blog again and I’ll follow it.

Awesome, this is a very good post. Even so I’m experiencing issues with your main Feed. Don’t understand the reason why but I am unable to get it. Is there someone receiving comparable issues? Anyone who knows kindly answer. Regards. Adam C.

Great post, I am going to write an extended comment afterwards, however i wanted to publish that I really like this kind of post! You’ve got a method together with terms.

What youre saying is completely true. I know that everybody must say the same thing, but I just think that you put it in a way that everyone can understand. I also love the images you put in here. They fit so well with what youre trying to say. Im sure youll reach so many people with what youve got to say.

It’s actually a good and valuable piece of info. I’m glad that you shared this useful info with us. I highly recommend you keep us up to date such as this. Thanks for posting.

You shared very usefull infomation over here! I just wanna thank you for doing that! When you posted more articles like this, I wanna visit your blog even more!

You could certainly see your skills in the work you write. The sector hopes for more passionate writers such as you who are not afraid to say how they believe. All the time go after your heart.

What youre saying is completely true. I know that everybody must say the same thing, but I just think that you put it in a way that everyone can understand. I also love the images you put in here. They fit so well with what youre trying to say. Im sure youll reach so many people with what youve got to say.

Oh, superb write-up! I have no clue how you were able to write this text..it’d take me days. Well worth it though, I’d assume. Have you considered selling advertising space on your website?

Hi, I really like your weblog. Is there something I can do to obtain updates like a subscription or some thing? I am sorry I am not familiar with RSS?

You can certainly see your expertise within the work you write. The arena hopes for more passionate writers such as you who aren’t afraid to say how they believe. Always follow your heart.

I would bet that’s correct.

Hello, this is often a nice website. I am continuously looking for information sources like this. Continue the good job!

Thanks! Stop by again and read more of my blogs, I cover all types of topics and content.

Wow, incredible weblog layout! How long have you been running a blog for? you make running a blog look easy. The whole look of your site is excellent, let alone the content!

Thanks for your comments. My web blog is from WordPress and they have a great look and feel for blogs. I have been writing for over 5 years on different web blogs and enjoy writing. Stop by again and read more of my blogs. I cover all types of topics and content.

I find out something much more complicated on various weblogs every single day. It’ll always be inspiring to read articles from similar internet writers and exercise something from their website. I’d love to employ some of your respective information in my own website in case you don’t mind. Naturally I’ll give you a backlink on my site. Nice one for sharing.

I really find this a interesting subject. Never looked over this subject in this manner. If you are planning to create some more articles about this subject, I definitely will return in the near future!

I was very pleased to find this web-site.I wanted to thanks for your time for this wonderful read!! I definitely enjoying every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you blog post.

I like this weblog so significantly, saved to my bookmarks .

Great goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely great. I actually like what you’ve acquired here, certainly like what you are stating and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still care for to keep it smart. I cant wait to read much more from you. This is actually a tremendous web site.

I am no longer positive the place you’re getting your info, however great topic. I must spend some time finding out much more or working out more. Thank you for wonderful info I was in search of this info for my mission.

Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all of us you really realize what you are talking approximately! Bookmarked. Please also talk over with my web site =). We could have a link exchange arrangement between us!

I do believe all the concepts you’ve introduced for your post. They’re really convincing and will certainly work. Still, the posts are too quick for beginners. May you please prolong them a little from next time? Thanks for the post.

Useful info. Fortunate me I discovered your site unintentionally, and I’m shocked why this twist of fate didn’t took place in advance! I bookmarked it.

Terrific paintings! That is the type of info that are supposed to be shared across the internet. Disgrace on the search engines for no longer positioning this put up higher! Come on over and seek advice from my web site . Thanks =)

I¡¦ll right away grab your rss as I can not to find your e-mail subscription link or e-newsletter service. Do you have any? Please permit me recognise in order that I could subscribe. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

